Last updated: October 22 2026
Aberdeen Square, also called Aberdeen Plaza, is the outdoor courtyard at Lansdowne Park that hosts the Ottawa Farmers’ Market on Sundays and the Ottawa Christmas Market. The Ottawa Farmers’ Market lists the Lansdowne Market at Aberdeen Square, 1000 Exhibition Way, on Sundays from 9:00 am to 3:00 pm (Ottawa Farmers’ Market).
At a glance
| Fact | Detail |
|---|---|
| Names used | Aberdeen Square (Ottawa Farmers’ Market, CBC); Aberdeen Plaza (City of Ottawa, Ottawa Tourism) |
| Where | A courtyard north of the Aberdeen Pavilion (City of Ottawa) |
| Farmers’ market | Sundays, 9:00 am to 3:00 pm; outdoor season May 3 to October 25 (Ottawa Farmers’ Market) |
| Christmas market 2026 | November 20 to 22, November 27 to 29, December 11 to 13, December 18 to 20, December 31, according to Ottawa Tourism (not yet confirmed on the organizer’s site) |
| Christmas market admission | Free (Ottawa Tourism) |
| Address given | 1000 Exhibition Way (Ottawa Farmers’ Market); Marché Way, K1S 3W7 (Ottawa Tourism) |
What the square is
The City of Ottawa lists “Aberdeen Plaza” as “a courtyard north of the Pavilion that hosts the Ottawa Farmers’ Market,” and says its stone pavers are patterned after traditional Algonquin basketry and reflect Algonquin respect for food (City of Ottawa). CBC reported that “the square known as Aberdeen Square sits between the Aberdeen Pavilion and the movie theatre” (CBC).
Sources differ on the name. The Ottawa Farmers’ Market and CBC use “Aberdeen Square.” The City and Ottawa Tourism use “Aberdeen Plaza.” CBC also reported that OSEG renamed the space Casino Lac Leamy Plaza at Lansdowne through sponsorship; this page did not find a current source for that name.
What it is used for
- Ottawa Farmers’ Market: Lansdowne Market, Sundays 9:00 am to 3:00 pm. The market lists the outdoor season as May 3 to October 25 and the listing as “Year-Round” (Ottawa Farmers’ Market).
- Ottawa Christmas Market: Ottawa Tourism states the market “takes over the outdoor plaza at Lansdowne,” is a “family-friendly and free event,” and lists food, drinks, local goods at vendor cabins and live performances. Dates for 2026: November 20 to 22, November 27 to 29, December 11 to 13, December 18 to 20, and December 31 (Ottawa Tourism). The organizer’s own website did not show dates when read on October 22 2026; this page will be updated when it does.
- Performances and seating: CBC reported OSEG’s plans for seating, shade, night lighting and a portable stage for musicians on non-event days, and a Christmas Market (CBC). Those were plans in the CBC report, not a current schedule.
- The City lists other nearby spaces: the Event Square courtyard west of the Pavilion, and East Court between the Pavilion and the Horticulture Building, which hosts the Summer Arts Series and the expanded Farmers’ Market (City of Ottawa).
Skating: the City lists an outdoor refrigerated Skating Court at Lansdowne, open daily from 7 am to 11 pm weather permitting. The City page does not state that the Skating Court is in Aberdeen Square, so this page does not place it there.
How to get in and accessibility
- The City states: “All of the pathways leading to Lansdowne are fully accessible” (City of Ottawa).
- The Ottawa Farmers’ Market page and the Ottawa Tourism listing do not describe accessibility features of the square.
- Ottawa Tourism gives no admission charge for the Christmas Market. The Farmers’ Market page does not state an admission charge.
Parking and transit
- Ottawa Farmers’ Market: underground parking costs $4.00 per hour, with the Queen Elizabeth Drive entrance recommended (sources differ: TD Place lists $5.00 per 60 minutes Friday to Sunday and $4.00 Monday to Thursday); parking on Bank Street and nearby side streets is free on Sundays; bus stop #3080 is served by routes 6 and 7; bike racks are available (Ottawa Farmers’ Market).
- City of Ottawa: on-street parking nearby, a commercial lot reached from Bank Street and Queen Elizabeth Drive, and an underground garage. OC Transpo routes 6 and 7 serve Lansdowne (City of Ottawa).
- Ottawa Tourism does not list parking for the Christmas Market. Rates and options are in the parking guide and free and cheaper parking near Lansdowne.
Short history
- CBC reported that OSEG was revamping the square as a “social meeting space,” closing part of Princess Patricia Way to cars, and planned a Christmas Market starting in November 2019. OSEG CEO Mark Goudie described the aim as “giving them a reason to want to come down to Lansdowne and hang out.” The report gives no calendar date for the announcement (CBC).
Around the square: the Aberdeen Pavilion, the Horticulture Building and this season’s last outdoor farmers’ market.
Sources
- Ottawa Farmers’ Market, Lansdowne Market: location, days, hours, season, parking, bus stop. Read October 22 2026.
- Ottawa Tourism, Ottawa Christmas Market: venue, 2026 dates, admission, description. Read October 22 2026.
- City of Ottawa, Lansdowne Park: plaza description, nearby spaces, skating court, accessibility, parking, transit. Read October 22 2026.
- CBC, Lansdowne plaza revamp: square location, OSEG plans, naming report. Read October 22 2026.
ottawalansdownepark.com is an independent site. It is not affiliated with the City of Ottawa, OSEG, TD Place or any team. Disclaimer.
